The Hierophant Meaning - Major Arcana - Ancient Alchemy Tarot

The Hierophant Meaning - Major Arcana - Ancient Alchemy Tarot - image

The Hierophant resides in the 12th house and is ruled by Pisces and Jupiter. The Hierophant connects to you through the 5th Chakra.

I'm using the Marseille Tarot deck because it's the first Tarot that we know about, and it was brought to this planet by Nicolas Flamel in the 14th century. It's a tool of personal development used in the secret school of alchemy. If you have any prior experience with Tarot, I invite you to open your mind to a new way of interpreting the cards. Hopefully, this information will add up to your current knowledge.

He represents masculine spiritual power and is card number 5 of the Tarot deck. Why?

After you performed a profound shadow work with High Priestess energy (card number 2), you developed your intuition through the Empress (3). Then, your inner Emperor (4) was ready to create precise strategies for you to govern your life.

Now you are ready to start living your life’s mission. It’s time to develop the ability to communicate clearly. The Hierophant is the archetype of the Orator.

Hierophant, the power of speech

When we speak, we use the archetype of the Hierophant. The first rule of effective communication is self-confidence.

The Hierophant is highly self-confident. He believes in what he has to teach and knows how to express himself above all.

His voice vibrates strongly, making the audience practically hypnotized when he is on the pulpit.

The Hierophant has a scepter, which represents power. Below the Hierophant, we see two hands, meaning he has an audience of devoted people.

Why only two? Because this card also talks about faith’s duality, the 2 poles of faith are fanaticism and total distrust.

If the Hierophant is skeptical, he can’t fulfill his purpose. On the other hand, if he becomes dogmatic, he becomes the Devil.

Similarity between Hierophant and Devil's card - image
Notice the similarity between Hierophant and Devil's card.

The people who follow the Hierophant want his guidance. The Hierophant’s role is to inspire and guide people through his sacred knowledge and oratory.

Therefore, he needs people’s admiration. But the more people admire him, the greater the risk of him getting lost in his fame.

And when this happens, he can appeal to fanaticism to manipulate and imprison his disciples as the Devil does.

A bigot is a stone-deaf orator.

Khalil Gibran

Notice that the Devil’s disciples are imprisoned by the throat, the 5th Chakra, exactly where the Pope’s energy connects to you.

The Hierophant needs to connect with the High Priestess to avoid this situation. He needs the power of self-criticism from the High Priestess so that he does not become a fanatic and manipulator.

The Hierophant and High Priestess

The High Priestess is very analytical; she uses reason to transform herself, lightening her shadows to become a better person.

Hierophant & High Priestess represent Yin and Yang - image
The Hierophant and High Priestess represent the Yin & Yang forces of the Spiritual Power.

She guards the Hierophant against the need for approval and the temptation of vanity. She does not let the Hierophant stray from his spiritual purpose and faith.

In addition to the High Priestess’ self-criticism, the Hierophant does not hold the sacred knowledge. See that the High Priestess is holding the book of divine knowledge.

The High Priestess transmits this knowledge to the Hierophant. And he “sells” this knowledge to his disciples. Yes, the Hierophant is also the energy of the salesperson.

With this sacred knowledge, he positively influences his followers using his impressive oratory.

Keywords: oratory, influence, sales, inspiration, faith, self-confidence, speech.

Bring Hierophant’s energy into your life and develop tremendous self-confidence and faith to inspire the world, fulfilling your life’s mission and…

Let the magic happen!

Major Arcana Card Meanings Alchemy Tarot

The 22 Major Arcana of the Tarot represents the journey we all live. The card numbers are a logical sequence, and therefore I recommend that you study in the series from 0 to 21.

  1. Fool
  2. Magician
  3. High Priestess
  4. Empress
  5. Emperor
  6. Hierophant
  7. Lovers
  8. Chariot
  9. Justice
  10. Hermit
  11. Wheel of Fortune
  12. Strength
  13. Hanged Man
  14. Death / Nameless
  15. Temperance
  16. Devil
  17. Tower
  18. Star
  19. Moon
  20. Sun
  21. Judgment
  22. World
The Hierophant Tarot Card Meaning: Archetypes & Symbols infographics - image

Astrology Tarot

An Alchemy personal development tool that transformed my life, and I'm sure it will do the same to you.

Tell me more